Back at it?

It’s been a while since I’ve written about football.

That wasn’t intentional, but not much has happened since I left San Diego a few months ago. Any changes in status, expectations, plans, opinions, and feelings have all been incremental and slow, so nothing has felt impactful enough to write about. That being said, I think it’s time for an update.

As I saw the NFL season wind down, I had to make a decision whether or not I wanted to make another run at it this year. There was a lot to consider.

Training:

Training for anything at an elite level is physically demanding, mentally taxing, and extremely time consuming. It would require my complete dedication for several months, and in the end I could have nothing to show for it (if I didn’t get signed by a team). All of this is compounded by the inconvenience factor of living and working full-time in Minneapolis now. Last year I was able to go to class and then walk down the hallway to the athletic facilities for my workout. Now it’s a 20-minute walk to the UMN student rec center where I sometimes can’t even do the exercises I want because they’re hundreds of students packed into the weight room. More importantly, it’s difficult to even find a place to do agility/speed training—especially in the winter. Doing all of this every night after getting home from work at 6pm would definitely consume my life.

Grad School:

I can’t bank on making it to the NFL, so I would have to continue to plan on leaving for Duke in August if things didn’t work out. A lot of i’s and t’s would need to be dotted and crossed before I left, but the worst thing that could happen is getting signed by another team and cut again in September. It would be too late to start school in the fall, and my career would be on hold for another calendar year. Additionally, since I can’t get ANOTHER deferment on my acceptance, I would have to reapply to grad schools with the possibility of not getting accepted.

Considering all of that, I’ve still decided to give the NFL another shot this year. It’ll be tough working full time and making time for serious training, but it’s the only way I’ll be able to look back and know that I gave it my best shot. Getting my foot in the door the second time around will be a tall order, but I know I’m good enough to make it if I’m given a decent opportunity.

Here we go again.

Every number I've had for every team I've played for. What's next?

.

.

.

~ by izikoosumohdum on January 26, 2012.

5 Responses to “Back at it?”

  1. This makes me happy to hear Isaac!

  2. You swerved me with the last paragraph. I thought for sure you were heading to school. GOOD LUCK!

  3. Way to live life … No regrets.

  4. One of your most attractive qualities is your work ethic. Best of luck to you, I-Bot!

  5. best of luck to you, i do hope you get on a team, i was rooting for you with the chargers.

Leave a Reply

 
