Finally some direction

As much as I’ve enjoyed being back in Rochester with minimal responsibilities, I’ve been feeling like my day-to-day life lacks purpose. I mean I’m still training for football, but it’s hard to motivate myself when I know there’s not a great chance I get called back to the NFL this year. I wanted to make the most out of these months before I go off to grad school, and that meant finding a job.

I didn’t want a job just to make money though—anyone can work at Blockbuster or Kohl’s or UPS (all jobs I’ve previously held, btw). Making the most of this year means getting some relevant engineering experience. The only problem is that nobody wants to hire an entry-level engineer knowing they’re going to be leaving in 10 months. Therefore, my only shot would be with internships.

I’ll cut through all the boring stuff in the middle and say that I did find a job: a mechanical engineering internship in Minneapolis with Medtronic. I’m pretty pumped about it because Medtronic is a company that makes medical devices, and that’s one of my main areas of interest in biomedical engineering. The job will be great experience for me, look good on my resume, and maybe get my foot in the door for after I graduate. That’s a win-win-win, as Michael Scott would say.

The only downside is that the job is only two days a week, meaning the money will not be enough to support my relocation to Minneapolis and I’ll have to commute from Rochester. Sometimes ya gotta make sacrifices.

I'll be working with a team developing the 3rd generation of Medtronic's implantable drug delivery pump.

~ by izikoosumohdum on October 17, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
