Grad school breakdown

From my experience, engineers don't look like this.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

A little over a year ago, I started questioning where my engineering degree would take me. Mechanical engineering is a pretty broad discipline, and as I learned more about the jobs in the industry I realized that a lot of them didn’t appeal to me.

I’ve always been interested in the human body, so I did a little research into what kinds of engineering careers would fit the bill. That led me to biomedical engineering. Long story short, I decided I wanted to go to grad school for it.

I applied to 7 different schools this winter, and here are the results:

Carnegie Mellon…….….. ACCEPTED

Colorado State……….…..ACCEPTED

Yale…………………..…………DENIED

Utah……………….…..……….ACCEPTED

Duke………………….…………ACCEPTED

UC Berkeley…………………DENIED

Northwestern………….….NO REPLY

My next step was to look more closely at the types of research projects being done at each school. With a mechanical engineering background, the type of biomedical engineering that I’m interested in is stuff like artificial body parts, surgical tools, prosthesis, and rehabilitation tools (other areas are more biology based, like genetic and tissue engineering, and I wanted to avoid those). So I looked for research projects in those areas, and that narrowed my decision pretty quickly.

Ultimately, I’ve decided to attend Duke University. They have one of the top-ranked biomedical engineering programs in the country, and their areas of research are exciting to me.

My plan: Enroll at Duke and still actively pursue the NFL. If I don’t make a roster or if there ends up being no NFL season this year, then I’ll head down to Durham, North Carolina so that I don’t waste a year of my life. If I do get onto a football team, then I’ll just put off grad school until my football career is over.

I’m not a fan of the uncertainty, but either way I’m still excited about what’s next.

.

I’m going to be the student speaker at our graduation commencement. Haven’t really thought about what I wanna say, but I promise not to make any dumb jokes or be overly cliche.

.

~ by izikoosumohdum on April 18, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
