Just do it.

It surprises me that this was such a successful slogan for Nike, but it certainly applies to athletes.

 

I’m heading down to Minnetonka today for my 3rd run on their turf. I plan to get in a lot of reps on:

  • Pro shuttle
  • 3-cone (aka “L”) drill
  • 45-degree-cut RB drill
  • 40 yard dash starts

When I mentioned to someone that I was driving to the cities for these workouts, they said “…dedication”. I kind of laughed at the time, but I guess it’s true. It might seem a little excessive to be driving 2 hours for a workout and then driving 2 hours back home, but I hadn’t really thought about. I just saw my problem and a way to fix it, so that’s what I did.

Maybe it comes from being an engineering student, or from being dedicated to a sport for 15 years, but honestly I think it’s just the way I am. I’m a firm believer in personal responsibility and just plain getting things done. If you have a problem, solve it. If something needs to be done, do it. The world would be a better (or at least more productive) place if everyone took a little more action.

~ by izikoosumohdum on March 16, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
